Books I Read in April

Now we’re up to April. Here are the reviews for the books I finished in April of this year.

There’s a legend that explains the rating system below the reviews.

1 The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith – ©2004 –☻☻ Disappointing mystery by one of my favorite authors. Scottish-American philosopher Isabel Dalhousie prides herself on her ethics. With this “tool” she attempts to uncover the mysterious circumstances of a man falling to his death from the top floor of an opera house. Not really a bad book, but I just didn’t like the heroine at all.

2 Living With Joy by Sanaya Roman ©1986 –☻☻☻☻ Spiritual concepts and how to apply them to your life.

3 Lost Horizon by James Hilton ©1933 –☻☻☻☻ A book I have tried to read for years, but the first few chapters always bored me to tears and I had given up. But the story of plane crash survivors who are taken in by the mystical residents of Shang-ri-la was just calling me to finish it. I finally did, and found that I liked the philosophies that emerge from the story, even if the language it’s written is a little stilted for me. I consider reading this book my literary accomplishment of the year.

4 The Other End of Time by Frederick Pohl ©1996 –☻☻☻Alien machinery found on an abandoned space station causes anxiety, and rightfully so, for the citizens of Earth.

5 The Siege of Eternity by Frederick Pohl ©1997 –☻☻☻Sequel to the novel described above – Earth becomes the focus of a galactic conflict between warring factions of alien races.

6 The Far Shore of Time by Frederick Pohl ©1996- ☻☻☻ The battle for Earth continues; alien agendas come to light.

7 Body Surfing by Anita Shreeve ©2007 ☻☻☻☻Math tutor becomes embroiled in the family drama of an affluent family, whom she lives with in a beach house for one summer.

LEGEND:

☻☻☻☻☻ Excellent. I highly recommend this book. Wonderfully plotted or chockful of insights.

☻☻☻☻ Very good. May have minor aspects of style or plot that prevented it from getting 5 smileys.

☻☻☻ Flawed, but of some entertainment or thought-provoking value.

☻☻ Read this book if you are stranded on a desert island and have nothing else handy to read.

Don’t bother, it’s a waste of time. A suggested use is to light the fire for cooking your fish on the desert island.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

