In the service of…?

My nephew just signed up for the army. He’s almost 18 and I personally was in shock that a young person would join the service at this point in our history.

Why would someone with his whole life ahead of him join a combat-weary army?

I asked him why, and he explained that this was the only way he was going to be able to afford going to college one day. And also to be of service to his country.

But seeing the plight of veterans and returning soldiers, I can’t see how anyone can expect to receive any gains from this experience. I can only hope that he will be able to learn a skill in the army that will enable him to support himself in later life.

I am usually an optimist, but this situation has me turned around.

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Musings

3 responses to “In the service of…?

  1. Yeah, definitely a scary time….

  2. I’m not sure if it’s brave or stupid decision. But I hope ever thing works out and he comes back in one piece.

    So many good man and women are putting their lives in danger, I really hope it’s worth it in the end.

  3. My own Nephew was in the service, and I do not know how much good it did him.
    Now McCain is siding with Shrub Jr. to eliminate the education package that so many of our youth join the armed services for in the first place.
    We can only hope now that he is not elected, and that this does not come pass. It is so unfair for our military to be so poorly treated. No matter how anyone may feel about war, surely they must see the sacrifices made by these deserving souls and their families and that they deserve as much as we can give them, and more!

    Your Nephew will be in our thoughts and prayers for all his journeys to be safe and to return him to American soil safely physical and psychologically.

Leave a Reply

