Amazing Babies

I’ve mentioned before that my friend Luana is a breeder of Brotogeris parrots. She has had a bumper crop this year, babies of each type of broto – she’s had several baby Grey Cheeks (they are not for sale), Canary Wings and Orange Chins. I couldn’t resist posting this photo she sent of her three latest baby Orange Chins (they actually came from the same parents that my bird Gobi came from).

The dime shows how very tiny they are. Their mother Bitsy died shortly after laying the eggs, and father Itsy wouldn’t sit on them, so Luana was scrambling trying to get another bird to hatch them. When that didn’t work, she had to transfer them to an incubator. There were five eggs in the incubator, so far only these three have hatched. But considering what they have gone through already, they are miracles. They are so tiny that they are rather difficult to feed!!

My bird Gobi is an example of what they will look like when they are grown:

5 Comments

Filed under Birds, Gobi

5 responses to “Amazing Babies

  1. I wish I had a Parrot, but the only place that I’ve found them available in Canada are pet stores.

    Considering how much they cost, I always wonder how they were raised. Since you hear so many horror stories about how they sometimes buy animals from uncaring breeders 😦

    So I guess I’ll just have to enjoy the pictures and stories you post about yours πŸ™‚

  2. Oh my! They are soooooo tiny.

  3. aww, they’re cute, with such big noggins πŸ˜‰

  4. Les

    he reminds me of a peach face I had once called Vivian(the young ones)…he was a funny little bugger…he would sit on the ceiling fan and squark till I turned it on…….he would go round and round…till he slipped off……..very funny!

  5. Lyndon – I’m sure there are many reputable breeders. If you’d like, I can ask my breeder friends if they know of any in your area. Let me know and I’ll put out some feelers. I’ve got lots of acquaintances in the bird arena.

    Iced – Isn’t it amazing? All those miniature organ systems actually up and running!

    Npanth – Luckily they grow into those noggins!

    Les – I’ve never met a peach face that I liked, pieces of my fingers always disappeared when I picked them up. They seem to be very violent little buggers.

Leave a Reply

