Words that Inspire the Spirit

Those of you who read my blog know that I am a spiritual person in that I believe in God, kindness to others, collective consciousness, and the afterlife. I disapprove of organized religion, dogma, judgmental people, fundamentalism, and black-and-white thinking.

To that end, I have been doing some spiritual reading this week and found some poetry and quotations that inspired me. I would like to share them with you here.

The first poem by the Sufi poet Rumi says to me that problems and difficulties in life are only as bad as you choose to let them be; if you can take troubles and learn the lessons they bring, you will lead a happy life. “Bad” situations may be precursors to “good” things.

The second and third quotes I can deeply relate to. Sometimes I will be overcome with joy and love for others; it’s like a very bright light is shining on me and I truly feel a benevolent presence surrounding me. My relationships with any person I meet while under this influence become totally effortless. I find that there is no such thing as a difficult person because I approach everyone with love and they seem to feel this somehow, as if I am broadcasting love and appreciation of each person I meet. People can even cut me off while I’m driving and it just rolls right off my back!

The last quote is self-explanatory.

___________________________________________________________

The Guest House

This being human is a guest house.

Every morning a new arrival.

 

A joy, a depression, a meanness,

Some momentary awareness comes

As an unexpected visitor.

 

Welcome and entertain them all!

Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,

Who violently sweep your house

Empty of its furniture,

Still, treat each guest honorably.

He may be clearing you out

For some new delight.

 

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,

Meet them at the door laughing,

And invite them in.

 

Be grateful for whoever comes,

Because each has been sent

As a guide from beyond.

 

(from The Essential Rumi; translated by Coleman Barks)

_________________________________________________________

At certain moments, always unforeseen, I become happy…I look at the strangers near as if I had known them all my life…everything fills me with affection…It may be an hour before the mood passes, but latterly I seem to understand that I enter upon it the moment I cease to hate. – William Butler Yeats

___________________________________________________________

Vacillation (IV)

My fiftieth year had come and gone,

I sat, a solitary man,

In a crowded London shop,

An open book and empty cup.

While on the street I gazed

My body of a sudden blazed;

And twenty minutes more or less

It seemed, so great my happiness,

That I was blessed and could bless.

– William Butler Yeats

___________________________________________________________

There is no object so foul that intense light will not make it beautiful.

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Art, Seeking, Spirituality

8 responses to “Words that Inspire the Spirit

  1. dk

    ‘I enter upon it the moment I cease to hate’, true, very true!
    great collage!

  2. Les

    Can a person beleive in God and not in Jesus?
    Can a person be a Christian without the beleif in Jesus?

  3. Beautiful quotations. Very uplifting.

  4. seb

    Sonja, you are too wonderful, I love these quotes, I see how connected they are to your mindset!

    It’s funny, I’ve also been reading Yeats, have a collection of his work on my night table, I read it from time to time… I like his poems about Irish folklore too, very cool…

  5. I’ll get you those interview questions in the next couple of days. Sorry. As you may have read, I have had a lot going on!

  6. At certain moments, always unforeseen, I become happy…

    It comes upon me when I hear Cory laughing with his father, or saying something wise beyond his years, and mine. And too, I believe, I cannot hate when I am in the thrall of love that comes on so quick, as it does when I look upon or think of my darling, innocent, brilliant child.

    Love, for a child especially, brings relief from the chaos of life, the indifference of adulthood, the exhaustion of every day, and in it’s warmth, and under it’s brilliant light, hate has no place and disolves into the void it came from.

    Cory’s love makes chaos bearable…

  7. Hi Sonja! I linked to your site via WordPress’ nifty new feature that links common post topics (so this is a little “hello” from the Ether!). I share your love of Rumi (and I absolutely adore this piece…we should all consider ourselves “guest houses”). Anyway, if you haven’t had a chance to listen to Coleman speak Rumi from the heart you should. I posted a Rumi piece on my site today, but you can search for Coleman on You Tube and treat yourself to an inspiring moment. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

