Nevermore

“Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
`’Tis some visitor,’ I muttered, `tapping at my chamber door –
Only this, and nothing more.'” – First stanza of The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe

This poem is so fitting for my home and neighborhood. Every morning I hear loud tapping on my roof. As I lay in bed in the early morning, at first I think it’s an early visitor at the door. But attentive listening reveals that the tapping comes from above the bedroom. It’s just another raven with a peanut or some other prize tapping it against the roof to open and devour it.

My neighborhood is crawling with ravens. It looks like a scene from Hitchcock’s The Birds. This is partially due to the fact that my next door neighbor adores ravens and prepares scrambled eggs for them everyday. They come in droves, squawking, circling and fighting over the scattered food. One of them says “mama” in an eerie voice that gave me the creeps the first time I heard it (and believe me, I am used to talking birds). Then these black birds perch in a white birch tree on her property and watch…and listen…

I wondered what is the difference between crows and ravens? So I did some research –

Size: Ravens are larger than crows. Ravens are on average the size of a hawk, while crows are approximately the size of a pigeon.

Call: The ravens have a hoarser, low pitch call; crows are higher and more nasal.

Tail: Raven tails are wedge-shaped; crows’ are rounded.

Habitat: Ravens prefer wilder areas while crows will live quite close to cities.

Facts courtesy of The Raven’s Aviary

 Did you know that the tequila brand name “Jose Cuervo” means “Joe Crow” in Spanish?


Hollywood tribute to my neighborhood in the morning.

5 Comments

Filed under Birds, Life

5 responses to “Nevermore

  1. I’m partial to ravens, but I don’t cook for them. I’m partial to Edgar Allan Poe, too. Your post hits on all cylinders 😉

  2. The local birds are Grackles. Smaller than crows, but with a more complicated call. they’re happy tappers, too.

  3. Well thems the breaks when you live in Transylvania

  4. Ravens rock. They’re so pretty and really intelligent.

  5. seb

    Cool, didn’t know those facts! And Poe is my favorite, I’m actually in the midst of one of his stories right now, I think it’s the longest one he wrote, Narrative of Gordon Pym, quite good…

Leave a Reply

