February 2007 Reading List


Here are the books I have read for the month of February. There’s a legend that explains the rating system below the reviews.

1) Three Keys to Self-Empowerment by Stuart Wilde ©1983,87,96 – Metaphysical theories on living life. ☻☻☻☻

 

2) The Motive by John Lescroart © 2006 – Lawyer and cop slice through political bullshit to solve arson crime.☻☻☻

3) Nightfall by Nelson DeMille ©2004 – As an adulterous couple video themselves making love on a Long Island beach; the camera also records the explosion of TWA Flight 800 with 230 passengers on board. Because of their illicit affair, they keep the video, which is probably the only evidence that can disprove the government’s version of the cause of the crash, a secret. Various factions attempt to solve (or cover up) the solution to the crash mystery, and the long hidden tape finally comes to light. This is a fictional novelization of the actual crash that occurred on July 17, 1996. ☻☻☻☻

 

4) The Brief History of the Dead by Kevin Brockmeier © 2006 – An incredible novel about a dimension that contains the spirits of those that are dead. It’s just like a regular city. The “people” are stuck in this dimension until everyone who ever knew them on Earth dies. Consequently, the population keeps dwindling. I love this author’s style and questing tone.☻☻☻☻☻

 

5) Bringing Out the Dead by Joe Connelly ©1998 – Conscientious but burned out paramedic is haunted by past situations where he could not save lives. ☻☻☻☻

 

6) Count to Ten by Karen Rose ©2007 –A fire department lieutenant and a police detective investigate serial arsons / murders. ☻☻☻

 

False Starts:

Saving Fish From Drowning by Amy Tan I could not finish this book; got to about page 70 and returned it to Barnes and Noble. I ordinarily love Amy Tan and have read all of her books, but this one went into so much trivial detail on each of the characters, I just didn’t care about them. Maybe I’ll revisit it in the future when I’m more patient about story development. ☻

 

LEGEND:

☻☻☻☻☻ Excellent. I highly recommend this book. Wonderfully plotted or chockfull of insights.

☻☻☻☻ Very good. May have minor aspects of style or plot that prevented it from getting 5 smileys.

☻☻☻ Flawed, but of some entertainment or thought-provoking value.

☻☻ Read this book if you are stranded on a desert island and have nothing else handy to read.

Don’t bother, it’s a waste of time.

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Books

11 responses to “February 2007 Reading List

  1. How do you find time to read so much? Usually I start many books, but I just lose interest and never finish them. I’ve been reading Catch 22, on and off for about two years now. Maybe one day, I’ll avoid the web and television and just try to read it in one day.

  2. You are quite the reader. “A Brief History of the Dead” sounds very interesting.

  3. I forgot to mention I also added your site to my link list.

  4. Someone just gave me Nightfall I believe to read. Said it was a fictional story about flight 800 and I should read it. I’ll have to check it out and see if that is the book I have.

    I am glad that Bringing out the Dead was good because I HATED the movie. I know books are always better, but I HATED the movie.

  5. Sonja (jackalope) says:

    Lyndon: I get to read so much because I don’t work out of the house right now due to a chronic illness and some pain when I overdo. So, my work consists of cooking, shopping, laundry, elementary tidying and cleaning up around the house, tending to all the bills and insurance stuff, and pet care. I have to take things easy to keep my illness in check, so I have more time to read than the “average” person.

    Sharon:Yes that was a great book! I like the author so much that I just read another book by him, which I will review next month.

    Manuel: Sounds like the same book. As for the movie versions of books – it’s hit or miss. I’d have to say there’s about 50/50 my liking the books better than the movies they are made from. I hate it when they change the characters, setting,etc, so much from the book that it’s almost a different story.

  6. Wow! 6 books and it’s only the 9th? I’m impressed.

  7. Sonja says:

    Bice, it’s the FEBRUARY reading list! I can’t read that fast!!! (although I wish I could)

  8. Oh ya, this is March. I knew that.

  9. Isn’t Bringing Out The Dead a movie?

  10. Randi: Yes it was. See Manuel above and my reply also. Did you see the movie? Did you like it?

  11. D’oh. No. That’s what I get for breezing through comments…

Leave a Reply

