How Many Politicians Does It Take to Change a Lightbulb?

Subtitle: The dimbulbs are at it again

In the name of the environment, a California politician wants our state to be the first to ban the use of incandescent lightbulbs in favor of florescent ones.

Mind you, I am a big fan of the environment. I recycle religiously, try to conserve gasoline with my driving habits, and turn off lights at home that don’t need to be on. I keep my thermostat at a reasonable temperature and don’t use air conditioning much in the summer. But I have to draw the line at being forced to use fluorescents inside my home.

I understand that they use less energy. That’s a good thing.

But as a migraine sufferer, I don’t like the subtle flickering effect that fluors have. I have suffered many a headache at work when the light above my desk began to wear out. The “temperature” of the light is annoying too. I love the golden glow my incandescents emit, it makes my home cozy. I just can’t see fluors providing soothing light.

If anyone chooses to use these lights in their homes, more power to them. But the underlying concept there is “choice”. I don’t see the government forcing car companies to produce cars that conserve gas. Of course the consumer has the choice to buy energy efficient cars or not (which of course will either drive the market forward or kill it).

I just don’t think it’s right to make me use a light source that is harmful to my health.

For the full story, click here: California Light Bulb Legislation

5 Comments

Filed under Politics

5 responses to “How Many Politicians Does It Take to Change a Lightbulb?

  1. seb

    Oh, I wholeheartedly agree! I completely believe in efficiency and conservation, but it comes down to choice. We can try and help people make better decisions, but we can’t force them if they aren’t hurting others in their choices…

    Fluorescents cut down on energy use big time right? I’m not sure by how much…

  2. glorious

    Once again I am in complete agreement. While it is a good thing to educate the public in conservation methods, forcing people to buy the more expensive, ugly and not necessarily better fluorescents is definately out. I would never vote to give the government more power to boss me around in my personal choices.

  3. What is it with governments thinking they have the authority to micro manage every aspect of our daily lives?

    If I want to eat trans fats, I will. If I want to use a certain lightbulb, I will. I will smuggle them in from Canada if I must just on principal.

    If I sell the incandescents I smuggle, will I be creating a light market rather than a black market? Or will they be black market lights?

  4. I hear you there and I follow you completely. But, just imagine the situation from another point of view.

    Yes, your government is corrupted and untrustworthy, OK, this is probably the case in much every country. Now, those people trying to manage our countries are doing a certain job. Good or bad, this remains to be seen but this is not the point here.

    I wouldn’t just disagree with what they say for the sake of not accepting anything from them. When on the other hand, everybody is asking for better social security, better pension plans, better this and better that. And then, nobody wants to accept to follow any rules. Hum….

    And no, nobody should have to tell us what to do, but why do they have to??? This is the question?? Why??? Don’t you think that maybe, just maybe, there is a problem somewhere???

    For the neon-bulbs, just know that they have absolutely nothing to do with the neon lights that you know and had in your offices and such. Those lights are very pleasant and just as nice as the ordinary bulbs, they last much much longer and indeed protect the environment. It is always a good idea to try and know the things that we talk about. But of course, the government said so, so, it should be bad…

  5. Pingback: Spotlight on Our Aching Heads « Quantum Leaps

Leave a Reply

