Desert Island Songs & Contest

It’s remarkable how our sense of our personal history is so affected by music. We all hear a certain song and are immediately transported to some other place and time; often the memory evoked can be so strong that emotion takes over. Being a huge fan of music my entire life (starting at age 5 when I got my first transistor radio), there are a multitude of songs that have meaning for me.

Of course, there are also tunes that just feel good to listen to. You like the beat, the lyrics, some combination of instruments, a certain chord change, or the singer’s heartfelt performance.

So, if I somehow found myself stranded on a desert (or preferably tropical) island with a CD player that somehow ran on solar power, here are some songs I would have to have with me to survive:

1. My Descent Into Madness – Eels

2. Genius – Warren Zevon

3. Thank U – Alanis Morrisette

4. Female of the Species – Space

5. The Passenger – Iggy Pop

6. Stardust – Willie Nelson

7. You Can’t Always Get What You Want – Rolling Stones

8. Dead Melodies – Beck

9. Break Up the Family, I’ve Changed My Plea to Guilty- Morrissey

10. Dogs of L.A. – Liz Phair

11. Chinese Baby, Sound of German HipHop – Clem Snide

12. Transatlanticism – Death Cab for Cutie

13. Speed Dial No.2 – Zero 7

14. California One / Youth and Beauty Brigade – Decemberists

15. Friends – Elton John

16. Dangerous Type – Cars

17. Instant Karma – John Lennon

18. Motel Matches – Elvis Costello

19. Sun King – Beatles

20. Save Me – Aimee Mann

OK, I’m limiting myself to 20. There are so many more, I could go on and on. I’d love to know what your desert island songs are…

Now for the contest part. The first reader who can answer this question correctly gets a mix CD made by me, of most of the songs mentioned in my Desert Island List above. Here’s the question:

What kind of bird is Gizmo? (NOTE:”parrot” is not a correct answer. I am looking for the specific type of parrot that she is.) The answer is in this blog. Here’s where the categories feature of my blog will come in handy.

Leave your answer in the comments section!!!

Postscript: OK here’s a hint…don’t look in the “birds and parrots” category – there’s another category with a lot less posts that has the answer.

6 Comments

Filed under Contests, Gizmo, Life

6 responses to “Desert Island Songs & Contest

  1. Good try, but that’s Gobi. Try again for Gizmo (she’s the bigger bird with orange pantaloons, green back, white belly, and black on her head).

  2. OK here’s a hint…don’t look in the “birds and parrots” category – there’s another category with a lot less posts that has the answer.

  3. I got your answer, thanks to your clue 🙂 I believe that the correct answer is Gizmo’s a Black-Headed Caique.

  4. seb

    Gizmo belongs to a subspecies of birds called the “Super Crimefighting Birdiferous.”

  5. Congratulations Lyndon!
    You win the super mix CD! It will be arriving at your doorstep within the next two weeks! (I have to make it first! Music hot and fresh!)

Leave a Reply

