What Would Jesus Do?

I very much enjoyed this post by Andy in the U.K. over at The Spicy Cauldron. It involves the hypocrisy of Christians as they discriminate against gays:


Christians demand right to discriminate

news/politics lgbt How can anyone opposing an end to discrimination claim not to be discriminatory? A Christian online petition states that gay people must be discriminated against if Christian liberty is to be maintained.

Christians would never want to be homophobic or discriminate against homosexuals out of bigotry or prejudice. Christians of course earnestly desire the repentance and salvation of homosexuals.

However, the Bible is clear that the only rightful sexual relationship for which we were created, is a relationship between a man and a woman in the context of a legitimate marriage. Consequently there are times when Christians need to be free to discriminate against homosexuals in order to make it clear that we believe in the Bible’s teaching that homosexual practice is wrong.

The mental gymnastics involved in formulating the above sentences are astounding. What utter tripe. The so-called Christians involved in this latest exercise don’t want to be seen as homophobic, yet the cap fits perfectly.

I would never truly advocate discrimination against anyone but here’s a re-write of the above I came up with:

Gay people would never want to be Christian-phobic or discriminate against Christians out of bigotry or prejudice. Gay people of course earnestly desire that Christians get a grip and start learning to love, not hate.

However, the Bible is a collection of books which together are about as clear as mud on almost every topic, one book therein often completely contradicting another, with Christians adopting a ‘pick and mix’ approach to their collective stance on any number of issues, especially human rights. Consequently, there are times when gay people need to be free to discriminate against Christians in order to make it clear that we believe their evangelising of hatred and intolerance goes against the fundamental teachings of Jesus Christ.

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone – stone being a metaphor, people.

I tell you, if I was obsessively heterophobic (I’m not at all) in the way these folks are about gay people, something tells me I’d be dreaming of heterosexual couplings all the time and waking up in a cold sweat wondering just who the hell I really was. I wonder what they dream about? One nation under a cross watching a man die, sexual fantasies that scare them silly, or a perverse mix of both?

Spare us all from cowardly-phrased justifications of prejudice. If you’re a bigot, at least have the courage of your convictions to state them clearly without trying to smooth the edges. We don’t see the same convolutions from the natural soulmates of religious fundamentalists, the British National Party (BNP). Substitute ‘black’ and ‘Asian’ or ‘Muslim’ for ‘gay’ and you’ve basically got the same sickness.

link to “Christians Demand Right to Discriminate” on The Spicy Cauldron site.

Sonja’s Note:

I try to keep this blog fairly apolitical, but this post by Andy really spoke to many of the feelings I have had about organized religion, judgment, hypocrisy, and loving your neighbor. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

In response to this post, civility in disagreement and discussion is OK; hateful comments will be removed.

8 Comments

Filed under Politics, Spirituality

8 responses to “What Would Jesus Do?

  1. Devil worshippers don’t discriminate against Gays

  2. Sonja:
    This is an issue that sends me through the roof – and that is to say I agree one-hundred percent with what you say.

    One of my very dear lesbian friends had a bumper sticker on her car that said, “Dear Jesus: Please protect me from your followers.” This says it better than I can.

    Thanks for the post. There are two competing forces in the world: love and fear. It’s not too hard to figure out which is which, people.

  3. Candace

    I agree. So much of this comes from people allowing a middle-man to tell them what to think, feel and believe, instead of listening to their hearts. Organized religion leads humankind away from God, not to Him/Her, and tells us to put our faith in others to teach us what is right and wrong, expects us to follow their faulty and all too literal interpretation of the teachings of a Master. And we humans are either too lazy, busy or afraid to figure it out for ourselves.

    But it is pretty basic. Be a Loving person, that is as close to God as you can get. And that means Love all of humanity, have compassion and consideration and respect for every living being, and the earth we live on.

    I was confused at how our Pres could abuse the earth and ignore Global Warming, but when I heard his religious beliefs it all suddenly made sense – he thinks the world is coming to an end, so why care for it? How else could a parent ignore the signs of an ailing planet, which his own children will inherit?

    Hmmm, yeah, maybe this is a topic too close to my heart for me to be polite about it… erase, erase, erase!

  4. seb

    I think the old testament is cooool. New testament, not as much of a fan.

    Religion is fine by me, but I can’t stand people who moralize and judge others all the time. I don’t need that in my life so I try and avoid it. The holier than thou people, ahhhh, makes me think of that big famous religious figure who was gay bashing all the time… then it was found out he was having affairs with male prostitutes!

  5. Much of Christianity (at least the fringe protestant type) is nothing more than subjective semantics.

  6. This is a brilliant post and well worth sharing with a wider audience.

    I have real problems with the attitudes and practices of organised religion – from child abuse, to discrimination and warmongering.

    We should be focusing more on spirituality than religion.

  7. Shaymus – Er…I’ll take your word for it.

    Leezer – I like the bumper sticker. I would like to have one that says “It’s not Jesus I don’t trust-it’s Christians”.

    Candace – Yes…organized religion is one of the great scourges of the planet. Imagine what the world would be like right now if it did not exist.

    Seb – Right on the money!

    Bice – Exactly. It is very convenient for the ultra religious that the Bible speaks in metaphors and fables so that people can get anything they want out of the writings.

    Nicola- Andy is very good at expressing the hypocrisy abundant here. Up with spirituality – organized religion is no longer a constructive entity in my estimation. Let us love each other and God in whatever way we can become the better person. I think the Wiccan Reade sums it up clearly “Do what you will and harm none.”

  8. I am Catholic, I try to follow the ways, but there are some things I just can’t follow. At church the other day they tried to recruit me for a pro-life walk. I politely declined even though I wanted to let them have it.

Leave a Reply

