My Reading List 2006

Many of you know that I LOVE to read. I read voraciously, as if the books were food and I am starving. Well…maybe I am – for ideas! I am interested in everything, although I enjoy fiction the best. I read lots of magazines and newspapers for my non-fiction fix. I also enjoy books on spirituality, the merging of science and spirituality, and autobiographies.

Me and a book are always in close proximity. I keep a backup book in my car for those little time slots like waiting at the doctor’s office, or waiting at a restaurant for a friend to arrive. I also read before bed for two or three hours before turning out the light. I never met a bookstore I didn’t like, and the librarians at the public library know me by name!

I keep a reading journal where I keep track of my reading. From that I have made a complete list of all the books I read last year (doesn’t include magazines and newspapers). If any of these titles sound interesting and you want to know more about a book, let me know. I can send you my personal impression or recommendation (on most books, some I may not remember as well as others).

2oo6

Blanchard, Alice – Life Sentences
Block, Lawrence – Small Town
Clement, Peter MD – Mutant
Crane, Megan – English as a Second Language
Didion, Joan – The Year of Magical Thinking
Fawer, Adam – Improbable
Finder, Joseph – High Crimes
Gladwell, Malcolm – The Tipping Point
Goodman, Allegra – Intuition
Grisham, John – The Last Juror
Hannah, Kristin – Home Again
Harrigan, Stephen – Challenger Park
Irving, John – A Widow for One Year
Kessler, Brad – Birds in Fall
Kingsolver, Barbara – The Bean Trees
Kingsolver, Barbara – Pigs in Heaven
Mitchard, Jacqueline – The Breakdown Lane
Moehringer, J.R. – The Tender Bar
Moon, Elizabeth – The Speed of Dark
Palmer, Michael – Society
Patterson, Richard North – Conviction
Reed, Abigail – Under Pressure
Reilly, Matthew – Contest
Sawyer, Robert J. – Mindscan
Tolle, Eckhardt – A New Earth
Tyler, Anne – Digging to America
Van Wormer, Laura – The Last Lover
Vincent, Norah – Self-Made Man
Wambaugh, Joseph – The Golden Orange
Wood, William R. – Broken Trust
Domingue, Ronlyn – The Mercy of Thin Air
Higginbotham, Joyce & River – Paganism
Lindskold, Jane – Child of a Rainless Year
Walsch, Neale Donald – Home with God
Gore, Ariel – The Travelling Death and Resurrection Show
Hendra, Tony – The Messiah of Morris Avenue
Crystal, Billy – 700 Sundays
Miller, Alicia Metcalf – My Life on Mars
Palahniuk, Chuck – Survivor
Twelve Hawks, John – The Traveller
Caldwell, Laura – The Rome Affair
Haldeman, Joe – Old Twentieth
Shreve, Anita – Resistance
Upcher, Caroline – Falling for Mr. Wrong
Yapalater, Karin – An Hour to Kill
Gaffney, Patricia – Circle of Three
Walsch, Neale Donald – What God Wants
Gear, W. Michael – The Athena Factor
Perrotta, Tom – Little Children
Picoult, Jodi – The Pact
Baden, Dr. Michael & Linda – Remains Silent
Snyder, Maria V. – Poison Study
Gilbert, Elizabeth – Eat, Pray, Love
Burroughs, Augusten – Running With Scissors
Butcher, Jim – Storm Front (Dresden Files #1)
Butcher, Jim – Fool Moon (Dresden Files #2)
Firlik, Katrina, MD – Another Day in the Frontal Lobe
Langan, Sarah – The Keeper
Binchy, Maeve – Nights of Rain and Stars
Little, Bentley – The Burning
Child, Lincoln – Death Match
Schwegel, Theresa – Officer Down
Weisberger, Lauren – The Devil Wears Prada
Gerritsen, Tess – Vanish
Harris, Lee – The Cinco de Mayo Murder
Coonts, Stephen – Saucer: The Conquest
Russell, Peter – From Science to God
MacLaine, Shirley – The Camino
Shreve, Anita – Light on Snow
Emerson, Earl – Pyro
Chopra, Deepak – Book of Secrets
Coetzee, J.L. – Slow Man
Lindsay, Jeff – Darkly Dreaming Dexter

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Life

10 responses to “My Reading List 2006

  1. That is some list – which was your favourite and why?

  2. Stopping through from Seb’s place. Nice blog. Nice parrots. Great photos! Happy New Year…

  3. You read about 1 or 2 or 30 more books than me last year. Quite an accomplishment.

  4. seb

    Wow. Nice!!! I’d love to hear your thoughts on some of your favorites, who are your favorite writers and why so?

    Haha, guess it’s the same question as Nicola! Maybe you can update us every once in a while with a book you’ve just read that you would highly recommend?

  5. Hey just passing through from 25peeps. Great site and damn you do a lot of reading, lol. hope to see you again.

  6. hahahah I saw the bird on peeps to….I though hang on! I know that bird

  7. seb

    Yay! Your on 25peeps, you should put a referral thing on your blog, I didn’t see one. So you can get some extra votes like that!

  8. That’s quite a list of books. I’m not familiar with most of them. I just picked up Old Man and the Sea from my bookshelf. I guess I want to read about fishing for a while 🙂

  9. Nicola – I think my favorite was the book called “Birds in Fall”. Believe it or not, it was not about actual birds for once! It revolved around a plane crash in a remote Canadian beach area where two male domestic partners ran a quiet and secluded bed and breakfast establishment. After the plane crash, relatives of the victims and government investigators pour into the village and many stay at the b and b. It is not a book with a great deal of plotting; rather it is a fascinating character study of the victims, the survivors and their families, and how the lives of the two innkeepers are impacted as well. Beautifully written, and emotionally accessible. Very easy to relate to these character’s thoughts.

    Fringes – hey, thanks for stopping by! Good old Sebster has a great blog! Always love to see new
    people stop in (of course I LOVE my regulars too!)

    Manuel – I don’t have a PS3 so I have to read, lol!

    Seb- good idea! Maybe I’ll have a little feature on my sidebar like Manuel has when he’s reading a book.

    Phil – thanks for visiting! I didn’t know I was on Peeps because I’ve been away from my computer for awhile. I think I fell off already!

    Shaymus – you recognized Gizmo! She’s very pleased…

    Seb two – aaarrgghh!! I didn’t know my avatar came up so I didn’t get to promote it in time!! I’ll keep trying!

    Npanth – Hemingway, right? We had to read “The Old Man and the Sea” in high school. I have to admit I could not get into it, but then again I don’t care for Hemingway. I had to study him again in a Lit class in college, and still didn’t like his style. Oh, well, to each his own! Hope you enjoy it!!

Leave a Reply

