Gratitude

Here is a post written by my friend Marcia. We co-blog together at a site called “The Ether Chronicles”. She has written here some wonderful sentiments that truly reflect what “Thanksgiving” is all about. It’s a little belated for the holiday, but timely for every day of the year:

For all of this, my soul is eternally grateful (by Marcia)

Photo, View from the Deck
Thanksgiving day, 2006.


It is only when I actually start to list exactly those things for which I am thankful that I realize that every aspect of my life is a blessing !

I don’t know exactly when my prayers took the form of thanks but it happened some years ago.

My daily prayers begin with an all-inclusive thanks for my blessings followed by requests for the beneficience of the universe for my friends and family.

I have so much to be thankful for. Without conscious thought, it is difficult to appreciate what I have always had.

I try to imagine being without.

I have a roof over my head.
I know where my next meal is coming from.
I have a career not a job.
I have great friends.
I have a great family.
I live in a beautiful place.
I work in well-kept garden.
I live in a great country.
My neighbors and colleagues constantly strive for civility and diversity.
We are beyond the worries of mere subsistance.
By world standards, we are rich.
We are able to make regular and steady contributions to the greater good.
We have at least ten diverse religions in my communitiy.
We do not harbor grudges against each other.
We do not war against each other or our neighbors.
We do not foster hate.

For all of this and more . . .
my heart and soul are eternally grateful.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Seeking, Spirituality

2 responses to “Gratitude

  1. seb

    I love reading these sorts of things, it’s wonderful hearing things people are thankful for! Sometimes we focus too much on the bad, we forget all the good!

  2. glorious

    I have made it a habit to give thanks for what I have too. We really have so much to be grateful for in this beautiful country.

Leave a Reply

