A Corny Post

When most people think of Southern California, they think of palm trees, sand, ocean, succulents, and perhaps tall grasses.

So when I saw that my neighbor had corn planted in his front yard, I had to capture it for the rest of the world to see. It is, or course, unusual to see corn in California, but as part of landscaping – well, that’s extremely rare. The corn only lasts about 3 months, then it starts getting brown and wilty, so they cut it down. Frankly, I am surprised that the homeowner’s association (which actually bans things like having an open garage door for long periods of time, working on your car in front of your house, having a home of the wrong color, and a host of other sins) has allowed the corn embellishment. But, lo and behold, every year around the end of August, the little corn plants sprout and thrive till the beginning of November or so.

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “A Corny Post

  1. Wow! How weird!! Maybe the man is the Scarecrow from Wizard of Oz? Oh and sure about exchanging links, you’re on my blogroll!

    PS About Bill Maher, I used to see him a lot at parties. He once came on to my friend. Let’s say..he likes the ladies…

  2. seb

    I am not a huge fan of that. Not at all… Maybe they miss the midwest???

  3. Yeah, I am surprised the association allows it. Seems like something that people would complain about..

  4. Oh I LOVE that! That’s a true rebel!

  5. Yes it looks a bit crappy..surely they could grow the corn in the back yard…..Bloody Hillbillies!…You could make that area look really nice with a bit of work…And I would be straight up on the roof to put in a wirly bird roof vent…..

  6. Pingback: Children of the Corn « Quantum Leaps

Leave a Reply

