Beautiful Observations

This is a beautiful post by Pink Ginger http://pink-ginger.blogspot.com/2006/09/rich-without-money.html

Visit her blog to see the photos that go with the story:.

Visited a poor rural village in China in my recent back packing trip.

We always think that they are living in poverty but they don’t. This piece of land that they call home, they do not realize what’s happening in the real world, they are contented, down to earth and always bring a smile that could melt your heart.

“Why don’t you leave this village and go find a new life in a city?” I asked. “the people in a city will never get what we have in their life, we’re not poor.” A young man answered me with confident, loud and clear.

I do not understand his philosophy, so I start observing everything about them during my one week stay…

We have one pet at home and they had many surrounding them.

We have a small piece of land to live and they have fields that go beyond our sight.

We have electric lights at home and they have the stars and moon.

We buy our food but they grow theirs.

We build up fence and wall around our house to protect us, they have friends to protect them.

We hire maid to serve us, but they serve each other.

We never speak to our neighbour but everyone in the village is their friends.

The young man was right – they are not poor. They are rich without money. We can never achieve what they have with dollar and cents.

We all should give thanks for everything we have, instead of worrying about what we don’t have.

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Seeking, Spirituality

3 responses to “Beautiful Observations

  1. In response to the question you left on my blog, I don’t have an answer for you. Multiple posters is an option in blogger that I know how to do, but since you have wordpress, I would have no idea how to do it. Sorry!

  2. Best things in life are free. Pity that the man is not free enough to make the best of them.
    benny

  3. I have two blogs. my url
    http://thomasbenny-benny.blogspot.com
    http://benny.journalspace.com
    In these two I post daily some thoughts on things that move me. You are welcome to visit me.
    with best wishes
    benny

Leave a Reply

