Square One

I just got the new Tom Petty album Highway Companion.

There’s a song on it that I just love entitled Square One. It’s a beautiful song about hitting a certain age and realizing you’ve gained wisdom. It took a lot out of you, but you’ve learned to get back to “square one” and start over a different way. Here are the words:

Had to find some higher ground

Had some fear to get around

You can’t say what you don’t know

Later on, won’t work no more.

Last time though I hid my tracks

So well I could not get back

Yeah my way was hard to find

Can’t sell your soul for peace of mind

Square One, my slate is clear

Rest your head on me my dear

It took a world of trouble

It took a world of tears

It took a long time to get

Back here.

Try so hard to stand alone

Struggle to see past my nose

Always had more dogs than bones

I could never wear those clothes.

It’s a dark victory

You won and you also lost

Told us you were satisfied

But it never came across.

Square one, my slate is clear

Rest your head on me my dear

It took a world of trouble, took a

World of tears

Yeah it took a long time to get

Back here.

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Poetry, Seeking, Spirituality

One response to “Square One

  1. I always quite like Tom Petty – this has reminded me why – adds it to the wish list ………. X

Leave a Reply

