Faith and science

I was having a heavy rap with a very wise and cherished friend of mine yesterday. She in turn has a friend who is a scientist. These are her observations about him. I don’t mean to pick on scientists at all, I respect them highly and some are actually quite spirit-minded after seeing natural wonders up close. So, scientists, take this an object lesson, not a personal barb.

My friend writes:

“He is a scientist. He wants to see God as something tangible, with physical features. That’s the only thing that would satisfy him. He can’t accept that God is Intelligence (but what else could have created all this?) because you can only see the effects of Intelligence, not Intelligence Itself. You don’t see Intelligence with eyes that only register physical phenomena, but you can see Intelligence with your mind’s eye. Buy that’s not enough for a scientist who want to see it with his physical eye.

I would like to ask him “What do you hope to see when you’re looking for God? What do you want God to look like?””

1 Comment

Filed under Seeking, Spirituality

One response to “Faith and science

  1. It’s too difficult to describe of quantify a search like that. It’s not one of the things that I can form a coherent vision of in my mind. I read somewhere that “I” am a spirit in a physical transport. how insufficient did that sound when you wrote it? I like your turn of phrase, it’s not that. We’ve only been attempting to marry science and faith since the 18th century. As one of the folks that future generations will undoubtedly think of as primitive, I think we’ve made pretty good progress so far. I think we will join the two eventually. We can see the progress we’ve made by comparing Galileo’s treatment to that of Jean Schumaker.
    I like your blog very much, very readable 😉

Leave a Reply

